Morning Mashup 03/30


coffee-newspaper

After taking a couple months off from serious blogging, I hope to return to a more regular schedule. I have taken more ecclesiastical responsibilities, and my wife and I are eagerly awaiting the birth of our first son, Jude. So, I have stepped aside from regular blogging, but I feel ready to jump back on the horse, so to speak. We will see where I am in about three weeks, though.

There are many wonderful articles in this morning’s Morning Mashup. I hope you check out each of them!


A Prison Pastor’s Advice for Parents – “A white supremacist, a Native American gangster, and a black drug dealer. Three prison inmates whose life stories differ in the details but unite around the same temptations.”

The Savior’s Tears of Sovereign Mercy – A beautiful piece from John Piper that will do the job of ushering your heart into the right place for Holy Week.

Four Truths About Complementarian Marriage – Attention all married or soon-to-be-married couples: Don’t miss this post from 9Marks. Whether you are engaged, have been married nearly two years (like myself), or have been married fifty years, this is a fresh and helpful reminder about the sweetness of God’s design for marriage.

Short-Term Missions: Redefining Success – Before you hop on that plane for your next short-term mission trip, check out this helpful article.

Discrimination Against Gay People in Indiana? – I’ve been hearing a lot about Indiana lately. And since the Hoosiers’ basketball season ended weeks ago, I’ve kind of been wondering why! Denny Burk helped enlighten my ignorance.

How They All Got There – This is a look at the journeys of each of the four teams comprising the Final Four. While my bracket was horribly busted early on (thanks a lot, Virginia and Iowa St.), I did rightly choose three of the four teams in the Final Four with the exception of Michigan St. With the rest of BBN, I truly hope Wisconsin does assault Kentucky from the three point line the way they did Arizona.


396110_519885398036913_1852978654_nMathew Gilbert is the Children’s Pastor at First Baptist Church East Bernstadt. He is the author of the forthcoming book Come to the Well: 50 Meditations to Fuel Your Joy in God (CrossBooks). Mathew lives in London, KY with his wife, Erica, and their dog, Simba.

Leave a Reply

