Morning Mashup 08/22


coffee-newspaper

A serious and sobering edition of Morning Mashup, with a crazy interesting story at the end. The continued focus as has been the entire week is response to Ferguson and racism in America and the church. I have grown more over the past week than I have in a while, mostly due to some of the articles below. Close out your week with some enlightening and edifying articles. Happy Friday!

Power, Police, and Another Shooting – Another black man was shot by white police in St. Louis. John Piper speaks to this abuse of power: “The more power a fallen human has, the more vulnerable he is to be corrupted by the power. This is true of pastors and police.”

Why We Never “Wait for All the Facts” Before We Speak – Thabiti Anyabwile has been a much-needed voice for evangelicalism in the wake of Ferguson, MO. I am so thankful for him.

Feeling the Pain, Despite the Facts – Bryan Loritts is such a profound writer. This is a moving piece that has given me great understanding.

Will White Evangelicals Ever Acknowledge Systemic Injustice? – This is an article that was hard, yet necessary for me to read. These past few weeks have been nothing short of eye-opening from my clearly privileged perspective. Leonce Crump writes, “The police have stopped me, both walking and driving, nearly once a year since I was 15 years old.” His testimony has shaken me.

Two Words that Prove Racism Exists in the Church – This is a sad reality among many white evangelical circles. Lord, help us.

A Prayer for the Afflicted Saints in Iraq – Beautifully crafted prayer for the suffering saints in Iraq.

A Christian Child Tells of Surviving ISIS Persecution – As a leader in kids ministry, this breaks my heart. Praise God this little boy and his family escaped.

I Increasingly Find Conflict Between My Faith and Some Conservative Discourse – An eye-opening article from Erick Erickson in which he writes, “In the past several months there have been three incidents that have solidified for me that my faith and my politics are starting to collide.” I fully agree with Erickson’s frustrations.

Dr. Kent Brantly’s Recovery and Remarks – And now for some good news! Praise God that Dr. Brantly has fully recovered from Ebola. His comments are gloriously God-exalting: “I prayed that God would help me be faithful even in my illness and that in my life, even in my death, he would be glorified.”

How Should a Pastor Approach Baptizing an Autistic Believer? – Russell Moore gives a wise and poignant answer to this difficult question.

Four Reasons Why God Forbids Adultery – Here is a helpful biblical picture of the reason adultery is sinful.

Hiker Fends Off Mountain Lion Attack With Opera – Yes, you read that right. I thought it appropriate to leave you with a pretty cool and amazing story to close out this serious edition of Morning Mashup.

The word of God is more than enough to accomplish the work of God in the people of God. –Kevin DeYoung


396110_519885398036913_1852978654_nMathew Gilbert is a student at Boyce College (B.A. Biblical and Theological Studies, Dec. ’14). He is the author of the forthcoming book Come to the Well: 50 Meditations to Fuel Your Joy in God (CrossBooks). Mathew lives in London, KY with his wife Erica and their dog, Simba.

Leave a Reply

