Morning Mashup 01/30


coffee-newspaper

Christians and Movies: Are We Contextualizing or Compromising? – Insightful and fair argument from Trevin Wax. “…I worry more that we are failing our neighbor because of our compromise than because we’ve failed to contextualize…[F]ilm watching is a matter of wisdom, not fear. But my great fear is that we are being unwise” (Wax).

Your Meaningless Ministry – Stephen Miller: “In reality, most of us just aren’t cutting it. Our numbers don’t measure up. We can’t even come close to comparing with the big-conference-preaching, best-selling-book-writing, mega-mega-mega-church pastors. We will never have that Grammy-award-winning, Billboard top 100, fill-an-arena-for-a-worship-concert kind of success. So we compare ourselves into a pit of despair and depression. This form of ministry is meaningless. This measure of worth is worthless.”

Worshiping God Behind the Line of Scrimmage – Bethany Jenkins, director of Every Square Inch (TGC), interviews Arizona Cardinals outside linebacker Sam Acho.

Why I Love an Evening Service – Tim Challies gives seven reasons why he loves evening services and why it is to our benefit to keep them going.

How to Keep Your ‘I Do’ in the Present Tense – “I said ‘I do’, and I still do.  The ‘I do’ of marriage is always in the present tense until The Lord Jesus says otherwise.  ‘I do’ is never ‘I did at the time’.  ‘I do’ is always present tense. ‘I do’ travels through space and time to whatever condition the married couple finds themself in and says, ‘I still do, I always do, and when the enemy burns down these battlements, I shall remain.’

5 Questions for Beyonce – Trip Lee: “[I]f I had the chance to meet [Beyonce] these are some of the questions I might ask, some of which I’m still working through myself.”

Winter Storm Photo Gallery – The southern states were hit with a snow storm a couple days ago with Atlanta being highly unprepared and “all but paralyzed,” primarily due to ice. Here is the story of the storm told in pictures.

If the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, then wisdom that rejects the Lord is not wisdom at all, but foolishness. John Frame

Leave a Reply

