God’s Strength in Weakness: “Alone Yet Not Alone”


aloneI was initially pointed to this song by my pastor as he mentioned it in his sermon this past Sunday. There are many remarkable stories at play with this song. On the surface, the song seems totally obscure. But it is far from it. The song was featured in an independent film and is sung by an evangelical quadriplegic woman, known better for her writing and speaking. So why the fuss? Remarkably, this powerful and beautiful song was recently nominated for an Academy Award. Hollywood was shocked that an unknown Christian film received an Oscar nomination for this song. I am thrilled that such a song will be heard by so many because it conveys many biblical truths that go to the heart of the gospel, as the cross of Christ is the fullest display of God’s power manifesting itself in weakness (Rom. 1:16). This song truly conveys a message of foolishness to a world that thinks itself wise (1 Cor. 1:25). For those familiar with evangelical stalwart, Joni Eareckson Tada, the song carries even more weight. Her voice singing these powerful lyrics brings home the message that God’s strength is magnified in our weakness. This song reminds me of Paul when he wrote:

“I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Cor. 12:9-10).

For more information on the song and the nomination it received, I would direct you to Denny Burk.

I would encourage you to listen to this song and marvel at the God whose strength is displayed in weakness.

Leave a Reply

