Joy in the Morning


So often in the morning, I will hear my alarm clock go off and immediately hit snooze. You know, I seem to never miss the chance to stop that annoying sound. I am so good at hitting snooze that I have even caught myself waking up just a few minutes before my alarm sounds. Do I usually take that opportunity to get up a little earlier? Nah. I’d rather just turn my alarm off, lay back in bed, close my eyes and hope to not get called in to work. Do I sound lazy yet? Well, at times I am extremely lazy. However, I never realized how sinful my slothfulness truly is until this morning. Yes, this morning as I joyfully sit up at 5:30 A.M. I have realized that I am such a filthy sinner. I realize that I have been forsaking my freedom in Christ as I continually strive to head back into my prison cell. I beg the prison guards to shackle my ankles once again. I shout, “Oh, please lock this cell!” I forsake the God of my salvation and exalt the sin of my flesh. I ignore the new creation I have been made into and revert back to the old creation that I have been liberated from. I deny eternal pleasure and satisfaction and settle for temporal pleasure and satisfaction that never fills up nor lasts. I do not trust God and demonstrate unbelief. O, Lord, forgive me for my unbelief and for my lack of trust. I feel the blunt of Jesus’ lament over his disciples, “O faithless generation, how long am I to be with you” (Mark 9:19)? I sit in ashes as I praise him with arms lifted high and heart sinking low for the immeasurable riches and glory of his grace. Of course, that is why we are here. We are here to glorify God and enjoy him forever and the best way to do that is to exalt, praise, and extend the glory of his grace (Eph. 1:6).

Nevertheless, my sin has blinded me and deceived me recently. I have been living in a slumber of not waking in joy to meet my Lord. I have not desired to know him more. I have not desired to love him more. I have worshiped him less. And I have not been making disciples. The fire that was once there seemed to be fading. This is one reason that I must affirm the doctrine of perseverance of the saints: future grace. If it were up to me, I would continue down this road of rebellion and sin. My flesh would entice me and deceive me and I would be so foolish as to obey its passions. However, my God has elected me. My God has called me. My God has regenerated me. My God has justified me by his grace and through my faith in Jesus alone. My God has adopted me. My God has and is sanctifying me. My God is indeed preserving me. My God will one day glorify me. From start to finish, God is in control. He is the initiator, perfector, and finisher of my salvation. All glory belongs to God as he is sovereign in every aspect of my salvation. While I have cooperated through faith and repentance, it was only made possible and effectual by his grace and calling. Today, I would be a true apostate if not for the future grace of God. Again, my experience has helped shape my theology. O, how sweet the aroma and how majestic the glory of the doctrines of grace.

Yes, indeed my God has woken me from my slumber this morning and I have read of the Messiah in the Psalms. I have read of King Jesus and his rule and reign. I am reading, studying, and meditating once again to know God more. Because of this my affections for God have been raised to a high level once again. I desire today to live for him and to demonstrate the love and grace of the gospel to preschoolers and adults alike. O, God, help me to obey. This return to intimacy in relationship and return of pure and true affections has led me to worship the King. I will praise the King of Psalm 72. This King who is in the line of David by God’s precious and perfect will. I sing this morning before the sun rises and will sing when it sets. By God’s grace, I will sing as long as the sun rises in the morning and the moon lights up the night sky. And then when the sun is no more, I will sing for thousands of years and into eternity in the presence of the glory of the Lord my God. I will praise my Triune God this morning. Ultimately, I desire this intimacy, affection, obedience, and worship for others. I make it my prayer to make disciples today. At all costs, my I make disciples for the joy of all peoples and the glory of God. Christ reigns and will reign. Christian, let’s reign with him as we make disciples. As long as the nations and your neighbors do not worship the King who is worthy, labor for their salvation for the praise of God’s glorious grace.

I am so overwhelmed that God woke me this morning with this renewed desire. It is all attesting to the power of his Word and sufficiency of Christ. I have never felt so much like a wandering Israelite in the wilderness only to be embraced as a loving son by the King of the universe. If you are sinning, repent. He is just and the justifier. My joy is full this morning as I study his Word and submit to his rule as I worship his name. May I make disciples for eternal joy and eternal glory.

Revelation 4:8, 11:      “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty,

who was and is and is to come!

Worthy are you, our Lord and God,

to receive glory and honor and power.”

Leave a Reply

