The Potter and the Clay


“But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand.” – Isaiah 64:8

I am so humbled by these words in this verse. My heart cries out “Thank you Father! Thank you my maker, my potter! I am but clay, mold me and make me for your glory!” I reflect on the day and past days and think about how much importance I have placed on myself, how many times I have felt sorry for myself after not being chosen before someone else, how many times I have felt proud when I was able to accomplish something I set out to accomplish … the list just goes on and on. But wow! I am the clay therefore I am by no means the maker! My flesh has lied to me my entire life by tempting me to think “How great am I? Look what I did!” and thoughts such as this while in reality, I am only clay.

Clay is used for molding. The potter uses it to create for his purpose. God has formed us in his image and whether we respond in obedience or not, his purposes will be accomplished. Paul includes this verse which makes this truth known in Romans 9:17-18: “For the Scripture says to Pharaoh, “For this very purpose I have raised you up, that I might show my power in you, and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” So then he has mercy on whomever he wills, and he hardens whomever he wills.” People still dead in their sin may boast in their rebellion toward God when in reality it is God who has not yet revealed Himself to them and hardens their hearts. Paul continues writing and by doing so clarifies the fact that through this, God is still just. Remember, “we are the clay”. Paul writes, “You will say to me then, ‘Why does he still find fault? For who can resist his will?’ But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, ‘Why have you made me like this?’ Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use?” (Romans 9:19-21). God’s ultimate goal is to glorify himself and therefore he has designed his creation to reflect this; yes, even those who rebel against God (such as Pharaoh) are being used to glorify God and to fulfill his purposes and yet they will be held accountable for their rebellion and actions. People get angry over this and Paul knew it.  He made this clear when he stated some questions against God that people may ask concerning this such as, “Why does he still find fault? For who can resist his will?” Remember this man, you are clay, you are here for God’s use, salvation is a gift and God owes us nothing. God opens our blind eyes and reveals himself to his elect by grace, not because we deserve it. God does not owe humanity salvation; in fact, what we deserve is hell!

May you, the clay, stand in utter awe of the one true God, the Potter. May you glorify him for all that he is, for all that he has done, is doing, and will do. O dear Christian, rejoice in the grace God has shown you through your salvation. Be reminded today and every day that you and I are the clay and that we are being used for God’s glory therefore may we fight sin, find our joy and satisfaction in God every day, and lead others to see the God we put all of our faith and trust in through our actions and words. May we pray for the salvation of others by praying that God would open their eyes to see his glory and that he would give them a new heart (Ezekiel 36:26).

O sinner, still dead and a slave to your sin, I pray that God would open your eyes and reveal himself to you. I pray that he would give you a new heart and that through this, you would find the everlasting joy of your life in him.

May God be glorified, may the clay praise its Maker! May we as the clay share the message of salvation through Jesus Christ alone and “present our bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is [our] spiritual worship” (Romans 12:1).

By the grace of the most holy, wonderful, merciful, and just Potter.

Leave a Reply

