Summer Reading List


While summer is in full swing, I thought I would give you all my list of the books I plan to read for the remainder of the summer (Lord willing). I will be reading them in the order I list them. Beware: They are primarily Piper influenced!

1. The Power of Words and the Wonder of God – This book edited by John Piper and Justin Taylor has contributions by John Piper, Paul Tripp, Sinclair Ferguson, Mark Driscoll, Daniel Taylor, and Bob Kauflin.

2. With Calvin in the Theater of God: The Glory of Christ and Everyday Life – This is a book edited by John Piper and David Mathis with contributions from Marvin Olasky, Sam Storms, Douglas Wilson, Mark Talbot, and Julius J. Kim. I am looking forward to learning more about the life and ministry of a theological giant, John Calvin.

3. Future Grace – This is a book written by John Piper which I will treat as a devotional. There are around 30-31 chapters in this book and I will use the month of July to read one chapter each day.

4. Finally Alive – Yet another Piper book will fill my July days. I am particularly looking forward to this book which I just stumbled upon a few weeks ago. Piper gives a clear Biblical definition of what it means to be “born again.” This is a subject that is in need of clarity in our post-modern “Christian” culture.
5. For the Fame of God’s Name: Essays in Honor of John Piper – I am most definitely looking forward to this more lengthy book as the contributors are impressive. Multiple tributes to Piper’s vision of God and his purpose in life from the likes of G.K. Beale, Randy Alcorn, Gregory K. Beale, D.A. Carson, Mark Dever, Wayne Grudem, John MacArthur, C.J. Mahaney, R. Albert Mohler Jr., David Powlison, Thomas R. Schreiner, Bruce A. Ware, Thabiti M. Anyabwile, Jon Bloom, Sinclair B. Ferguson, Scott J. Hafemann, James M. , Jr. Hamilton, David Livingston, David Mathis, David Michael, and William D. Mounce. This great work is edited by Sam Storms and Justin Taylor. It includes essays from each of these men on the topics that have been central to John Piper’s ministry. The topics include, God’s sovereignty, Christian Hedonism, prayer, justification, and Jonathan Edwards along with others.
So, that is my basic five book list of some “must reads” for the remainder of the summer. I pray you would consider picking up one of these books and enter the mind and soul of a joy-filled theologian. There are others that I plan to throw in as well, whether to use as a devotional or to dive into like the others. The other possibilities include, Forgotten God by Francis Chan, Imitation of Christ by Thomas a Kempis, The Cross of Christ by John Stott, and possibly another Piper book or two such as, A Hunger for God, Think, Life as a Vapor, and Let the Nations Be Glad!

My goal through reading these books is to have a greater Biblical understanding of God and I pray that they would drive me to fall at His feet, worship Him joyfully, and grow in sanctification by the power of the Holy Spirit and by the grace of God. I encourage each of you to read and read often; for the glory of God and the spread of His gospel to all peoples of all nations.

By His Grace — For His Glory — For our Joy

Leave a Reply

